A Page of Love to My Granola

I love cereal. My morning doesn’t feel quite right without some cereal for breakfast. When I was pregnant, I often had a bowl of cereal for a midnight snack. The crunch, the fiber, the touch of sweetness, the cold milk in one spoonful. Yum! But I have had to take a break from cereal. In a renewed effort to lose the baby weight, I have introduced healthier alternatives to my favourite foods.

I am a big believer in moderation not starvation of the foods I love.I only have one life and food is a huge part of my life enjoyment. I pulled out this recipe for granola which I used to make a couple of years, and this has become my new go-to recipe to satisfy my cereal craving. It has more fiber and less processed sugar than any of my cereals, and it is so versatile! I can add any nuts or dried fruit that I have in my cupboard (my favourites so far: almonds and dried cranberries, peanuts and dried apricots). Or leave out the dried fruit and add fresh fruit!

IMG_1519

Homemade Granola Recipe

3 cups of oats (quick oats, steel-cut oats…whatever you have works)

1/2 tsp salt

3 tbsp brown sugar

1/3 cup honey

3 tbsp coconut oil

1/4 tsp vanilla extract

Options: nuts (almonds, pecans, walnuts, peanuts, pumpkin seeds…); dried fruit (apricots, cranberries, chopped mango, apples, blueberries…); spices (cinnamon, unsweetened cocoa powder, ground decaf coffee….)

Preheat oven to 350F.

In a bowl, stir together oats, salt, brown sugar and any options.

In a microwavable container, combine and heat honey and coconut oil for 40 seconds. (I use a glass measuring cup because I can measure the ingredients in the container and it has an easy pour spout. If you want clumpier granola, then make more of this honey and coconut oil mixture.) Stir the contents to ensure the coconut oil is dissolved. Add vanilla extract.

Add wet ingredients to the oat mixture and stir well. Place mixture on a large cookie sheet covered in parchment paper (easy clean-up!). Spread evenly.

Place in oven and stir every 5 minutes to prevent burning. It should only take 10-15 minutes depending on how hot your oven is and how crispy you want your granola. If you’re choosing to leave it in longer than 10 minutes, watch the granola carefully. It can go from roasted to burnt very quickly (I’m speaking from experience here!).

Allow to cool before placing in a container. And enjoy!

Let me know your favourite granola flavour combination.

 

 

Leave a Reply

