My favourite books from 2015

I still managed to read 43 books last year even through my haze of pregnancy. So for my first real post in 2016, I thought I would present to you my favourite books of 2015. When I looked back at my reading list, these 5 books were the most memorable.

image2

Jojo Moyes “Me Before You”

The first book that came to my mind is not in my picture because it was missing from my bookcase. (If you’re reading this and I lent it to you, please return it to me.) The loss of this book makes me sad because it is definitely one I would read again. Lou becomes the caregiver for Will, a paraplegic, and their professional relationship begins to transform both of their lives as they find themselves connecting in ways unexpected. This book had the right combination of realistic human emotion and fantasy romance situation. The story was easy to place in the real world and yet take you outside of your reality. It is one of the few books I cried while reading, which is what made this book memorable for me. If you enjoyed The Time Traveller’s Wife, you will enjoy this book too. *I also wrote a blog post about this book back in February 2015.

Terry Fallis “Up and Down”

I love Terry Fallis’s books. The writing is clever, hilarious and slightly whimsical. In this book, the Canadian division of a marketing firm is helping the Space Program regain its popularity. They run a contest to put a Canadian and an American civilian into space. The captivating characters, the contest outcome, the PR company drama, and the journey into space result in an interesting plot with lots of funny moments.

Michael Crummey “Galore”

I’m a huge fan of geografiction; literature that treats geography as a character. This is a genre I encountered when reading Aritha Van Herk during my senior year at university. “Galore” is full of unique characters with sharp edges hiding soft hearts, and the Newfoundland coast plays a central role in the formation of the plot. This book details the family feuds, secret passions, and marital intersections of the inhabitants of Paradise Deep. The otherworldly man found alive in the belly of a whale washed up on shore adds another fascinating element to a strange town. Fascinating!

Elizabeth Hay “His Whole Life”

This is another book where the surrounding environment plays a vivid role in the storyline. The wilderness of Ontario’s Muskoka and the busy landscape of New York City shape the character of Jim. The plot follows Jim as he grows from a 10-year old imaginative boy to a teenager dealing with family turmoil and personal loss. Hay enriches this coming-of-age story with her amazing use of language. Her wordsmith skills makes me read her books over and over for the beauty in how she turns a phrase. This novel is another amazing read from Elizabeth Hay.

Louise Erdrich “The Round House”

When his mother is attacked, Joe searches for answers and justice as he navigates the relationship of whites and Ojibwa on his reservation, and struggles to interact with adult issues while still in his budding pubescent stage. Erdrich is an amazing storyteller, and successfully weaves together suspense, humour, tragedy, and love.

Any of these books would be a great addition to your 2016 reading list. Happy reading!

Leave a Reply

