A fresh serving of thoughts for 2016

Hello everyone! It has been a few months since I have blogged and for good reason. Near the end of January 2015, I found out I was pregnant! I dealt with severe nausea throughout the entire 9 months and had a bad case of baby brain, so I took a break from blogging as my day-to-day life took more energy than I had to give already.

DSC_0112

On September 27, we welcomed our daughter Cecilia into the world! It’s a good thing she is so cute, because boy are babies a lot of work!

IMG_5535

Now that she has passed the 3 month mark (the end of the “fourth trimester”), she is starting to nap in her crib and sleep longer through the night. I feel as if I am starting to get some of my brain power back, and I feel the itch to do something more each day than change diapers and sing Pattycake. As 2015 slid into 2016, I contemplated as many people do about what I want to do with a fresh year. Restarting my blog was one of the first ideas that popped into my head, quickly followed by the thought “what’s the point?” Even though I feel self-conscious about my writing style and question how often I’ll even be able to blog with a demanding baby at home (or who will even read what I post), blogging allows me to tap into my creative side and feel as if I am contributing to the conversations going on outside of the four walls of my living room. And so here I go again!

However, finding the time to read a book is currently scarce as Cecilia requires both of my hands and full attention through most of the day. At my current reading rate, I will only be doing a book review once a month. So, I have decided to expand the content of my blog to reflect what consumes my days right now such as meal planning, recipes, and general inspirations I encounter in the blogosphere. I hope you enjoy reading pagesforbreakfast as much as I will enjoy sharing! Happy New Year all!

2 thoughts on “A fresh serving of thoughts for 2016

  1. Karen

    Happy new year, and welcome back to blogging! I wonder if audiobooks might work if you wanted to read a little during the day without using your hands? Either way, looking forward to following your new posts when you get a chance to write them! 🙂

    Reply
    1. pagesforbreakfast Post author

      Audiobooks had crossed my mind. I tried out podcasts to see if audio would work for me and found I missed half the podcast. Cecilia is a good distracter 😉 Thanks for the suggestion and the welcome!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

