A quiet Sunday morning breakfast: “Introverts in the Church” by Adam S. McHugh

So I don’t think I have stated on my blog before, but I am a Christian. My goal is not to push my beliefs onto others but some of the books I read (and therefore, review) are centered around spiritual instruction. And so here is a review of an amazing non-fiction religious book I finished recently.

introvertinchurcheditI was feeling the people drain and began searching for a book that could help me foster my introverted spirit while still being involved in the community that I am passionate about. My pastor suggested “Introverts in the Church: Finding Our Place in an Extroverted Culture” by Adam S. McHugh. This book was excellent. I would recommend this to any Christians struggling with the large amount of social interaction that church requests of us (Sunday morning service, bible study/home church, volunteering, elder meetings, spending time with the friends created through these events). This book celebrates the traits that introverts bring which are often overlooked in modern churches, and encourages introverts to use their gifts to feel a belonging in community. McHugh instructs introverts to take the time they need alone and delight in how they can connect with God and hear Him in the silence they seek. But he also emphasizes that those times of solitude should be used to recharge so that introverts can go forth and interact with community again. McHugh accurately shows the value in alone time and the necessity in engaging with other people. I felt my introversion celebrated for the first time and I was persauded to continue to invest in my church community. Even though it makes me feel exhausted most days, the effort of being with people is well worth the experience of sharing life and thoughts with each other.

I felt inspired by this book to encourage other introverts within my home church, and I even challenged my husband to try and change the way we lead to create an environment where introverts and extroverts can contribute and share their strengths with each other. I encourage all church leaders to read this book. It teaches leaders how to lead effectively even as an introvert (including recognizing your own limitations and working with them) and how to create a church environment that welcomes both introverts and extroverts. This book was definitely a good read.

5/5 bacon strips

Leave a Reply

